



ANNOUNCEMENT – THOMSON AWARDS

Thomson Gold Medals were awarded to **Richard M. Caprioli, Franz Hillenkamp** and **Victor Talrose** for "outstanding achievements in and distinguished service to international mass spectrometry" at the 16th International Mass Spectrometry Conference, held in Edinburgh, Scotland, UK from 31 August to 5 September, 2003.

The Thomson Medal is named for Sir J.J. Thomson, who more than 100 years ago, was responsible for the first mass spectrograph, a parabola instrument which used magnetic and electrostatic deflection and which foreshadowed many features of modern instruments.

Professor Richard Caprioli, currently at the Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tennessee, USA, was recognized for his contributions to the development of the methods of continuous-flow dynamic fast atom bombardment mass spectrometry, microdialysis/mass spectrometry, micro-electrospray ionization mass spectrometry and of an innovative method of imaging mass spectrometry, presently being applied in colon, breast and brain cancer research.

Professor Franz Hillenkamp, currently at the University of Muenster, Germany, was recognized for his contributions to the development of the laser assisted desorption ionization methods of laser microprobe mass analyzer (LAMMA) mass spectrometry and (together with Michael Karas) of matrix-assisted laser desorption ionization (MALDI) mass spectrometry. The latter now being applied worldwide in laboratories for research in the biological and medical fields.

Professor Victor Talrose, currently at the Institute of Energy Problems of Chemical Physics in Moscow, Russia and at the University of California in San Francisco, USA, was recognized for the discovery of protonated methane in the gas phase, the development of the bracketing method of proton affinity determination, the construction of various types of mass spectrometers including a beam instrument to study free radicals in the gas phase and the original coupling of GC and LC to mass spectrometry.

The Thomson Medal was first given in 1985 and is sponsored by the International Mass Spectrometry Society. Past awardees are J.H. Beynon, K. Biemann, M.T. Bowers, C. Brunnee, R.G. Cooks, C. Djerassi, J.B. Fenn, D.E. Games, D.F. Hunt, K.R. Jennings, A.G. Marshall, H. Matsuda, F.W. McLafferty, N.M.M. Nibbering, A.O.C. Nier, H. Schwarz, and J.F.J. Todd.